MIDI Data Output sent back to Keyboard Instrument

Everything about LiveProfessor.
Ideas, bug reports, tips & trix
Greg2399
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 8:25 am

MIDI Data Output sent back to Keyboard Instrument

Postby Greg2399 » Sat Nov 22, 2014 8:44 am

Hi all,

My Nord Stage EX does not have an arpeggiator, and I'm wondering if it's possible to send MIDI data from the Nord to an arpeggiator VST in LiveProfessor, and then have the arpeggiator VST output MIDI data back to the Nord. (The Nord has an option to turn Local MIDI control off so that the sound engine is only activated by incoming MIDI data).

So far I haven't been able to get this to work. The MIDI input data makes it in to the VST (and I've tried several VST's), yet no MIDI output data is sent back to my keyboard (the output light on my USB-MIDI interface does not light up). However, whenever I click on the "MIDI Thru" checkbox on the VST sidebar the dry MIDI data is always sent through back to the keyboard instrument (the output light on my USB-MIDI interface DOES light up and the Nord plays a sound).

I notice that in the Options MIDI menu in LiveProfessor, you can select the input MIDI channel but not the output MIDI channel. Is there a default output MIDI channel that LiveProfessor sends out on?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!
User avatar
nikolai
Posts: 1231
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: MIDI Data Output sent back to Keyboard Instrument

Postby nikolai » Tue Nov 25, 2014 9:23 am

Hi
This should work the way you describe it.
The output midichannel is the same as the input. (unless the plugin changes it for some reason)
What arp plugin are you using? I could test this and see how it works.
Greg2399
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 8:25 am

Re: MIDI Data Output sent back to Keyboard Instrument

Postby Greg2399 » Wed Nov 26, 2014 6:16 am

I was trying it with RandARP by CodeFN42. I tried other VST's as well, even synths and seemed to have the same issue.
User avatar
nikolai
Posts: 1231
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: MIDI Data Output sent back to Keyboard Instrument

Postby nikolai » Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:21 am

Ok, Thanks I´l have a look at it
User avatar
nikolai
Posts: 1231
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: MIDI Data Output sent back to Keyboard Instrument

Postby nikolai » Thu Nov 27, 2014 1:40 pm

Hi
Tried the randArp32 plugin. It works for me.
Loaded it in a empty project.
Routed the input and then the output, turned off Thru, nothing special.
Are you sure that there is not something else causing this?

Return to “LiveProfessor 1”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests