• September 21, 2018 at 23:38 #5455
    lytz1
    Participant

    Hey there,

    I am wondering if there is any way to prevent plugins that are added **after** a snapshot is saved
    to be on, not off and also not bypassed. (When I recall a snapshot the added plugins default to the power-button being off and
    bypassed also… So I have to turn them on and un-bypass them for all snapshots one by one and update all snapshots. This is
    getting quite tiresome pretty quickly…)

    Is there a specific reason for this behavior?

    Thanks,
    tL.

    September 22, 2018 at 04:26 #5458
    Nikolai
    Keymaster

    Hi

    The idea was that when you recall a snapshot, it should recall exactly as it was saved, so any new plugins should not stay.
    In retrospect, I see that there are plenty of situations where this would be “wrong”.
    I’m thinking of adding the current behavior as an option and then letting new plugins stay un-touched when not part of a snapshot.

    September 22, 2018 at 12:17 #5461
    lytz1
    Participant

    I see, I thought that was the reason. In practice, this is a somewhat expected behaviour, but I think in 9 out of 10 cases when adding a new plugin you’re intended to use it right away. So yeah, an option checkbox to switch this behaviour would be great. Especially when you have already quite a number of snapshots going on. (i.e. an Option like “Flag newly added plugins to ignore snapshot settings” or something like that? The wording is a bit werid though.. 😉 )

    September 22, 2018 at 18:10 #5470
    lytz1
    Participant

    Uuuuhm… I also just found a setting in the program options menu…

    Global Snapshots
    When adding a new plugin, how should the plugin be filtered in existing snapshots?
    Unfiltered – Filtered – Same as parent chain

    Isn’t this already pretty close to what we’re trying to achieve here?
    (Not sure, just found it, didn’t test what the various settings do.)

    September 24, 2018 at 17:38 #5472
    Nikolai
    Keymaster

    Almost, still need a new option under this though.

    The setting you found relates to the snapshot filter not the actual state of the plugin.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.